School of Music

Composition, Theory and Technology

People / Composition Faculty

Scott Lee

Praised as “colorful” and “engaging” (The Philadelphia Inquirer), Scott Lee's music often takes inspiration from popular genres, exploring odd-meter grooves and interlocking hockets while featuring pointillistic orchestration and extended performance techniques. His music marries the traditional intricacy of classical form with the more body-centered and visceral language of contemporary popular music, creating complex music of the present with broad appeal. Lee has worked with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, the North Carolina Symphony, the Portland Symphony Orchestra, Symphony in C, the JACK Quartet, yMusic, the Da Capo Chamber Players, and pop artist Ben Folds. Recent commissioners include the Bozeman Symphony, Copland House, Tanglewood Music Center, Aspen Music Festival, Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra, and loadbang. Notable honors include a Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters and two ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Awards. Lee earned a PhD in Composition at Duke University, and also holds degrees from the Peabody Institute and Vanderbilt University.

See website:

Paul Richards

Paul Richards is a Professor of Music and Head of Composition at the University of Florida. His works have been heard throughout the United States and internationally on six continents. Awards include Special Distinction in the ASCAP Rudolph Nissim Prize, the Jacksonville Symphony Orchestra’s Fresh Ink composition prize, the New Music for Sligo/IMRO composition prize, the Flute New Music Consortium composition prize, and many others. His catalog includes works in every genre, including three full-length operas, and commissions have come from numerous orchestras, wind ensembles, choirs, and chamber ensembles. Music by Paul Richards is recorded on the Meyer Media, MMC, Capstone, Centaur, Mark, Pavane, OAR, and Summit labels, and is published by Carl Fischer Music, TrevCo Music, the International Horn Society Press, Jeanné, Inc., and Margalit Music.

See website:

James Paul Sain

James Paul Sain (b. 1959) is Professor of Music at the University of Florida where he teaches electroacoustic and acoustic music composition, theory, and technology. He founded and directed the internationally acclaimed Florida Electroacoustic Music Festival for 17 years. His compositional oeuvre spans all major acoustic ensembles, instrumental and vocal soloists, and embraces electroacoustic music. His works have been featured at major national and international societal events. He has presented his music in concert and given lectures in Asia, Europe, South America and North America. Dr. Sain is President Emeritus of the Society of Composers Inc. He previously served for several terms on American Composers Alliance Board of Governors. His music is available in print from Brazinmusikanta and American Composers Editions and on CD on the Capstone, Electronic Music Foundation, Innova, University of Lanús, Mark Masters, Albany and NACUSA labels.

See website:

Tina Tallon

Winner of a 2021-2022 Rome Prize in music composition, Tina Tallon is a temporal media artist, creative technologist, and historian whose work grapples with questions of identity, agency, and power as constructed and performed in our increasingly technologically-mediated world. Dr. Tallon’s research specifically focuses on the myriad ways in which artificial intelligence influences how artists engage with society, with an emphasis on equity and algorithmic justice. Her concert music and interactive installations have been presented globally by ensembles such as the LA Philharmonic New Music Group, Ensemble Intercontemporain, wild Up, and Talea, in venues ranging from some of the world’s most celebrated concert halls to aquariums, subterranean tunnels, and grain silos. She has received awards, grants, and fellowships from organizations such as the Harvard Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, the American Academy in Rome, the Barlow Endowment, ASCAP, and NewMusicUSA. Recent commissioners include Guerilla Opera, the LA Philharmonic, and the Peabody Institute. She holds B.S. degrees in Biological Engineering and Music from MIT, an M.F.A in Composition and Music Theory from Brandeis University, and a Ph.D. in Music Composition from UC San Diego.

See website:

Connect with the School of Music

Keep up with the latest news about faculty, alumni, friends and current students.