In the Loop

University of Florida Symphony Orchestra: Beethoven Symphony No. 9

  • Date & Time
    • Thursday, October 07, 2021 7:30pm to 9:30pm
  • Cost
    • $10 Students
    • $10 Faculty
    • $10 Faculty/Staff
    • $40 Public
  • Description

    Considered one of the finest achievements in the history of Western music, Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 could be described as something of a sonic miracle. One needs to see and hear this performed live to even begin to understand its power.

    We are ecstatic to bring Beethoven’s 9th, along with two other dynamite pieces, to our stage in collaboration with the UF School of Music. Prepare for an evening sure to be as towering as this historic composition, boasting a full orchestra, chorus, and four internationally known soloists in addition to the Gainesville Master Chorale and UF School of Music faculty Paul Richards, Jasmin Arakawa, Raymond Chobaz, and Will Kesling.

    Return the Echo — Paul Richards
    Choral Fantasy — Ludwig van Beethoven
    Symphony No. 9 — Ludwig van Beethoven

    Jasmin Arakawa, Piano
    Ronnita Miller, Mezzo-Soprano
    Cooper Nolan, Tenor
    Lori Guilbeau, Soprano
    John Robert Green, Bass-Baritone

  • Links
  • Venue
    Curtis M. Phillips, M.D. Center for the Performing Arts
    3201 Hull Road
    Phone 2
    Curtis M. Phillips, M.D. Center for the Performing Arts Website